Ohayou!

If you have read my about me section, you will now know that I love anime! I learned about anime in 2001 when I had a friend who really enjoyed Cowboy Bebop. At first, I thought she was weird because of her obsession with Spike, the main character. At the time I didn’t understand crushes on anime characters and she really liked him. I started seriously started watching anime in 2003 thanks to a boyfriend who was really into Inuyasha and Dragonball Z. My interests went in a different direction than his, I preferred to watch Cowboy Bebop and The Big O. I had watched anime as a child but I didn’t know that was what it was; Sailor Moon. It was one of my favorite shows on television and as a little girl, I was such a romantic.  So as an introduction to my blog, I will give you a taste of a few of my favorites.  Thanks for reading and welcome to my internet home!

Trigun

Trigun (1998). Vash the Stampede. Nicholas D. Wolfwood. This is my favorite anime show of all time. This was the first show that I purchased the season in entirety. Vash the Stampede is the main character and you are introduced to him as a lovable, klutzy, and funny character. You soon find out there is more to this wanna-be Casanova. I would place this in the action genre of anime, there are great fight scenes but it is still family friendly as there is no gore. Vash loves the kids.

Miyazaki and his Works

Hayao Miyazaki. His films are like “fairy-tales”. This is something you hear a lot about when someone is discussing Studio Ghibli. They are so much like fairy-tales that Disney loves them and has their hand in the cookie jar. I have probably seen most if not all of his films. You can’t help but get a warm and fuzzy feeling when you watch his films. Definitely family friendly and absolutely for those who are not 100% anime fans. It is difficult for me to choose a favorite from his films because I love his work but I would say my favorite would be Howl’s Moving Castle.

A vampire story like no other.

Now I’m usually not into vampires but I started watching Trinity Blood (2005) because one of the main characters Abel Nightroad reminds me of Vash the Stampede from Trigun. There are many similarities in terms of their pacifism and their appearing to be clumsy individuals without a care in the world when they are both butt-kicking dynamos and test tube babies. Its your classic vampires vs. humans story with some differences that I enjoyed. I would put this anime in the scifi genre; set in the post-apocalyptic era, nanomachines, Mars settlers, a girl’s dream. It is not as family-friendly but every now and then you want to see some blood splatter.

Care for a psychological thriller?

A psychological thriller, Perfect Blue (1998) had me on the edge of my seat the first time I watched it. I had not seen an anime done in this style before and it went beyond the “cuteness” factor of anime. It was dark, edgy, and led you on a suspenseful adventure. This is one of my favorite works done by Satoshi Kon and it was the first of his works that I had seen. It was also my first introduction into the big business of the “idols” in Japan. I also loved how the movie was shot, it was almost done in the style of live action movies. Perfect Blue explored the high price of beauty and fame.

Michiko to Hatchin

Michiko e Hatchin

Michiko e Hatchin (2008) has become a recent favorite. It also stepped out from the stereotypical anime characters and it changed the setting. Rather than being in Japan, Michiko e Hatchin is set in Brazil and the characters are Brazilian (yes, they still speak Japanese…ha). It was intriguing to see with very beautiful artwork. It also stands out as it is one of the few anime where the characters change clothes not only throughout the series but in individual episodes. I have seen it compared to Thelma and Louise as Michiko and Hana are two females on the run from the authorities. I loved the soundtrack and the OP is one of the best I have seen and with that I will leave you with the OP:

5 Comments

  1. Nice post, that’s an interesting mix of anime there! I have to agree on Trigun, and Ghibli on the whole (I couldn’t just limit it to Miyazaki though, Takahata’s Grave of the Fireflies and My Neighbours the Yamadas are among my favorites, even if they’re not what immediately springs to mind when someone mentions Ghibli). Perfect Blue is fantastic, as are all the late Satoshi Kon’s films. I found Michiko to Hatchin worth watching just because it was so different to the norm, and as you say, it had great music too!

    The one show there that didn’t grab me was Trinity Blood; I found the series started well, but suffered later from the lack of back story and pacing issues. It had likable characters and decent music, though. And no doubt there are things high on my favorites list with as many (if not more) flaws – it is all down to personal taste at the end of the day. :)

    • GoodbyeNavi

      Yes, Grave of the Fireflies was a very good film. However, it is not considered a favorite because it made me cry and I have vowed to not watch it again. It was beautifully done but was too sad. I don’t believe I have watched My Neighbours the Yamadas so I will check that out, thanks for the reference. I was very saddened by Satoshi Kon’s death as the anime community lost a very fresh voice.

      I see where you are coming from with Trinity Blood, I believe the reason why there was a lack of a back story and pacing issues was due to the death of the writer, Sunao Yoshida. It becomes glaringly apparent that there was a different writer in the later episodes. It was a disappointment in terms of the show but it couldn’t be helped.

      • Ah, I wasn’t aware of the writer’s death. The later episodes certainly felt as though they were rushed and lacking something, but I’ve seen that in a lot of anime adaptations where they’ve tried to squeeze a long running novel/manga into too few episodes, or tried to come up with an anime original ending to something that is still ongoing, so I didn’t think much about it.

  2. Great list…Trigun, in particularly, remains one of my favorites. Have you seen the new film? It’s a really fun addition to the series.

    I also love Ghibli stuff. I’ll second the recommendation on My Neighbor the Yamadas – very cute film, though drastically different than everything else they’ve done.

    • GoodbyeNavi

      I have indeed seen the new film. I saw it a convention and it was a good watch even though I had to sit on the floor because the room was so crowded. So we have two for My Neighbor the Yamadas, definitely going to check it out. This is a very limited list, I only wanted to give a brief glimpse of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 255 other followers

