Anime Blogging – Does it encourage your hobby?

I am new to the world of anime blogging. I have watched anime for 10 years as a hobby. Late last year I decided to start blogging about what I watched and what I felt about it. This was mainly due to not having any friends that are interested in anime so they are not interested in me talking about the shows. I wanted a place that I didn’t feel restricted and my thoughts could freely flow. But I wonder about the pressure of being an anime blogger? Do you feel like you have to post within a certain time limit to keep people interested in your blog?  I didn’t start blogging expecting to have a large amount of readers. I will admit that my blogging attempt was selfish in nature; it was for me. I have since realized that it isn’t just about me, there are people who read the blog and I do want them to have a positive experience.

I know that I will not be able to blog daily; my real life constraints don’t really allow for it. I watch a lot of anime but I definitely don’t watch it on the scale that I did while I was in college and had a lot of free time. Every now and then I may post more than once a week. These occasions most likely happened or will happen because I have watched or thought about something that really caught my interest. Sometimes I wonder if other anime bloggers after a while get a sense of anxiety or feel like they have to post something. I’ve read blog posts where people are apologizing for being busy or not posting their review for rundown of the currently running show they are watching. So it crossed my mind that it could be possible that those who  watch anime and started blogging can start feeling a bit discouraged. I have found that it has not done so for me at this juncture because I have been able to read extremely well-written blogs focusing on anime. It is helping my writing skills and it has me looking at anime I wasn’t aware of and probably wouldn’t have been if I had not started blogging myself. I’m also meeting new people, albeit from behind a computer screen, but it’s nice so far.

What does anime blogging do for you?

31 Comments

  1. For me, blogging has forced me to start thinking about anime in a different way, being more analytical about it at times – although it has yet to completely spoil any show that I am currently enjoying. It has also helped my writing skills in a similar way to you, and given me a chance to think. I tend to write because I want to, and while I do often feel the need to post things regularly, partly because of the nature of the internet, at the same time it is often for my own personal enjoyment. Overal I enjoy blogging, and will continue to do so while I have the time and willingness to do so.

    • GoodbyeNavi

      You brought up a great point. It has also given me a chance to think more regarding anime. Sometimes when I watch anime I don’t think too deeply about what I’m watching unless it’s one that I have to pay close attention or I will miss something. Blogging has made me pay more attention to detail.

  2. Like you, I don’t have a bunch of friends who are interested in anime. I know a fair amount of people who like anime, but wouldn’t call the majority of them friends. And I’m out of college and working full-time, so my leisure time is far more restricted than it used to be. Nevertheless, blogging has been tremendously rewarding for me. It’s broadened my hobby, made me a better at communicating, and been a lot of fun! I know for a fact that some of the skills I’ve picked up have gotten me a higher salary at my job, so that’s a nice perk, too.

    I think if I tried forcing myself to stick to a schedule it would have been far less fun and I would have burnt out. But I take a more impulsive approach, waiting for inspiration to strike and posting when I really feel like it. I think blogging is far less about schedules and far more about doing things you personally find pleasing. If you’re not having fun, no one else will.

    That said, watching your site traffic can be very educational about the web and human behavior in general. I try not to get too personally invested in that stuff, especially because my website is so damn inconsequential, but it’s still illuminating.

    Now that I’m older and (ostensibly) wiser, I’m less interested in how much anime I watch, and way more interested in the quality of my experiences. I want to see the best stuff suited to me under the best circumstances suited to me. I don’t marathon the way I did in college, but watching anime is a richer experience than it ever has been before. A big reason is that blogging has helped me to understand myself better.

    • GoodbyeNavi

      So far I have only blogged when I’m inspired. Forcing yourself to a schedule would take the fun out of it and lead to some high anxiety. I wish I could say that my blogging has led to a higher salary but that wouldn’t be the case. Maybe if I continue to blog and my writing skills increase, it may help me find a better job. My search skills have improved since I started anime blogging which does help with making work easier.

      Watching my site traffic has been very entertaining as I know what the majority of the people have gravitated towards. The funny thing is they have gone to the post with the information I will blog the least about. In terms of anime, I don’t have the time to marathon unless I’m sick and have nothing else to do. With my current life, I have to be more picky about what I watch because there is simply not enough time to watch everything. I’m also hoping with anime blogging, I can encounter anime that I have not heard of and is not super popular but is still enjoyable to watch.

  3. I’m one of those who’s often late (like this week), often making excuses and apologizing. I wouldn’t say I feel obliged or under pressure to deliver on time – my Campanella posts were very sporadic and far from weekly, for example – but if the delays are caused by something foreseeable (going on a 6 week course for example), I see no harm in letting people know about it. It lets me tell my readers a bit about myself and what I’m up to outside of blogging, while letting those who’re only there for Mirai Nikki know when to check back. :razz:

    For me, blogging is just another fun way of filling up my free time. It lets me post about things for longer and in more detail than I would on the forums I visit, and (more recently) meet a wider range of anime fans from different backgrounds.

    • GoodbyeNavi

      I see nothing wrong with giving your readers a heads up especially when you know you may be gone for a while. There is a relationship between you and your readers and if people really follow your blog, they will notice if you’re missing especially if you’re a consistent blogger. Letting people know ahead of time allows them not to worry and to know when to expect you back.

  4. Blogging is what you have to write, you make yourself a limit of blogs a week a genre you stay loyal to. I always make sure i have at least 3 blogs a day with minimum 500 words yet even that is rising to 700. I like to leave at least a gap of one day to relax and watch more movies.

    • GoodbyeNavi

      Three blogs a day? Wow. How do you manage to do all that? My blog posts are generally lengthy but I try not to make them super long to the point that they bore people.

      • I review movies, 3 posts a WEEK (not a day o.O). There are lots of movies/animations i respect and also the recent ones that I feel obligated to review. A review is supposed to be detailed and a delight to the interested eye so i have no choice but to stretch my limit of words.

      • GoodbyeNavi

        Oh, ok. I was thinking wow, that is dedication to do three posts a day. I think it takes talent to write a quality review and the writer must have high skills in thinking analytically. I do prefer reviews that are detailed but if they overly detailed, I will check out and stop reading it. But that also might be to them not being a “delight to the interested eye”.

  5. I started blogging mainly because I tend to like watching titles that aren’t exactly all that known or talked about. I like to compare it digging for precious metals; you’ll end up with a lot of stuff that on its own isn’t worth much, but the overall result is still worth the trip, and every once in a while you’ll find a true gem that’s been “hidden” all this time. I want to blog about the stuff that you normally don’t read about because it’s always new to someone else. Even though I don’t get comments all that often, just the feeling that people are reading and, hopefully, becoming interested in checking out some of the titles I’ve reviewed is enough for me. And it does look like people are reading, even if it’s only so many people; I have no idea if my visitation numbers are good, average, or simply respectable, but oh well… I didn’t start this blog to be “famous”.

    Then there’s also the fact that I graduated from college with a B.A. in Journalism, so I might as well actually write about stuff in some way or another. I try to average one post per week, but that doesn’t mean that I write something up every single week. Really, I go into more detail about why I started up my blog in my One-Year Anniversary post from December of last year, but what I said above is the basic gist of it.

    • I’ve been looking for a blog that discusses obscure titles or shows that weren’t extremely popular with the masses. There is a lot of anime out there so one is bound to encounter junk. Sometimes I have gone back and watched an anime that I gave up on too quickly. I’m more interested in blogs that aren’t “famous” because then as a reader I can interact with the author as a person more rather than my response getting lost in a sea of similar and/or dissimilar response.

  6. To some extent Anime Blogging is just another hobby for me, so I do not really feel pressured to compose a post if I am late about a week or two, since my real life (like yours) is so constrictive on time and what not. On the other hand, you have something on your mind or know you have something you want to post it can be discerning when you do not have time to develop it or can not let it out. I do have a couple of people I can discuss Anime with, but since that number is limited and my interacting skills on the net (as well as offline to extent) border near horrid, this helps…to an extent. When you do not have many people like the samething as you do it is only natural to seek others that do; so when I blog I mainly do it for generating discussion which is all the encouragement I could really need.

    • GoodbyeNavi

      Exactly; generating a discussion is what I’m interested in. A discussion that everyone can leave with a positive experience and/or something new learned.

  7. I don’t really feel a “pressure” to write a review every week/month/whatever . I used to have a review out once a month, but it wasn’t exactly that I planned it that way. It’s more when I feel like writing, have the time to write, and have something meaningful to say. With my blog I try and review shows I think people missed out on and should go out and watch/find. So it lends itself to some spontaneity. I do however understand the concept of “needing” to write something, and often wonder if one of the reasons my blog isn’t huge is because of the huge gap of time between my reviews.

    As for why I blog, I don’t really do it for myself. I know what I think about these shows. Instead I do it for everyone, my readers and future readers who stumble upon my old reviews years from now. I hope to point them toward an anime they would have otherwise not watched. Or I hope to remind them of some old dusty show they watched in 1993 on VHS and remember how much they enjoyed it. So I write for others, not myself. Anyway interesting post.

    • I do believe the blog needs to be relatively consistent if you want a steady flow of readers or keep your current readers coming back. That is if you care about that type of stuff. Like I said, initially when I started this blog, it was for me. It was a way for me to get my thoughts out regarding shows that I watched and also to find other blogs that discussed similar topics. However, I noticed that there were a couple of people reading so I realized it was not about me only. It was about those who came across the blog and what they took away from it.

      Your blog is the type of blog I’m interested in, a blog that can introduce me to shows that I have never heard of before or if I had heard of, hadn’t gotten around to watching it.

  8. I’m someone who always imagines what the reader must be thinking, impatiently waiting for a new article which is why I always end up apologizing for my late posts. But now that I think about it, I prefer writing a late solid post rather than a pointless and quick one.

    Concerning my reason for blogging, let’s say the ani-blogging world seemed fascinating to me. Since I also have a lot of friends who aren’t into anime, I wanted to “virtually” meet people who spoke about anime and made it a part of their lives like me.

    You changed your theme! :D I really like it~

    • Are you someone who impatiently waits for a new article? :) Quality over quantity is preferred for me although I have seen several bloggers who post a lot but have managed to put out solid posts each time. It’s weird, there are all these people on the net who like anime, but where are thy in my life outside of the net? Haha.

      Thank you for noticing I changed it!

  9. It’s actually a weird thing. I’ve been running on a schedule for a while now, 1-2 posts a day. When I first started out, it was fun and I didn’t mind it. Then, I hit a point where I started getting that anxiety you mentioned of having to meet the schedule. But nowadays, I feel like I get into a rhythm, so sticking to the schedule becomes fun again. It’s that rhythm that gets me apologizing whenever something is late, too. I feel like when I fall into rhythm, a reader would fall into that rhythm too, so being late is being disruptive.

    • I hear what you’re saying about the rhythm. I think I have a bit of a rhythm myself, I start itching to write a post and I am actually happy when I start to blog.

  10. Yi

    Hm… That’s a good question. I’ve always maintained that I blog for myself. At the beginning, it really was a way to simply keep track of personal thoughts and emotions. Nowadays, it’s more of a way for me to feed my ego… which does create a lot of pressure to have content for the readers, since, well, stats and everything. I’m a lot more relaxed about it now though, which I guess is both a good and bad thing.

    “Sometimes I wonder if other anime bloggers after a while get a sense of anxiety or feel like they have to post something.”

    Yea, that’s a very real sense, so much so that for a while, I was put off from anime simply because I don’t want to feel like I have to write something.

    • And that is something I do not want to happen, be put off anime based of pressure from blogging. So far it has not occurred. I have been put off anime before but that was more so due to not having much of an interest.

  11. Anime blogging is self-serving, narcissistic, etc. I don’t even pretend to “serve” readers. However, I give a lot of effort in the posts I make because they entertain me, and luckily this joy I have is shared by some readers.

    • At least you’re honest. However, I do hope that those who read my posts get as much enjoyment out of them as I do.

      • If you’ve been reading WRL long enough (or at least the __gatari posts) you’ll get how I value authenticity. Anime blogging is a means to express and connect. It is a great feeling to be validated by readers. It is to me, not an easy thing to accomplish and I’ve put in a lot of work in the site all these years. Thus, when I do get validated, it does feel special.

        The key thing here is to not court validation. I am proud of it because I did it on my terms.

      • Absolutely. Blogging is a personal enjoyment and I would be remiss if I did not admit that I am looking for others to discuss my fandom with; who enjoy anime like I do. The internet is the only place I have for anime discussions because as I have mentioned, in my personal life, none of my friends enjoy anime.

        I haven’t been reading your blog long, I just found it a couple of days ago. I’ve only been aniblogging since late November of last year so I’m still finding blogs to read.

  12. I am lucky enough to have a ton of friends in my life who like anime, thanks in part to my school’s anime club in college. Unfortunately, now that I’ve graduated, we’re all far enough apart that we can’t really do much more than recommend shows to one another. Starting up my blog was more of a way of getting myself back into the rhythm of watching anime than it necessarily was in talking about it — without those club meetings every Monday, I was forgetting this fabulous medium that entertains me so much!

    I guess I’m also in the minority when it comes to the battle between having a schedule or writing organically. I absolutely have to have a schedule or I’ll never watch/write. I’ll waste time on stupid websites like memebase and run myself into a catatonic state. Knowing that I’m expected to post on a certain date means that I procrastinate so much less! (It’s really sad when you even procrastinate from doing the things you love, isn’t it?)

    • I think one needs to be in a certain frame of mind when doing things they enjoy. It’s not procrastinating, it’s wanting to do something one loves in a way she or he can fully enjoy it. There are people I once knew who enjoyed anime but unfortunately they are no longer around. It’s nice to know that blogging brought you back to anime. It is a “fabulous medium” and I wish more people could be delighted by it. And schedules are good for procrastinators! :)

  13. skyhack

    To be honest, posting comments on anime blogs is also narcissistic, although narcissism gets tougher to maintain with age.
    .
    Well, I started with Anime Academy reviews (which I still read, when they see fit to post a new one), and read those for several years. Bought many an anime from Geneon and ADV (sigh) based on AA’s recommendations. Used to read Anime on DVD as well, until the big move. The reviews became too hard to find. Moved on to THEM. (Still read it every week)
    Started reading BasuGasuBakuHatsu around 2004, soon added Karmaburn, THAT, and Kurogane.

    Added RC and and Sea Slugs soon afterward, and many more since.
    I’m older than most anime fans (55), so it’s intriguing and often refreshing to read what a younger and better educated person has to say about new shows. I read tons of reviews, watch 5 or 6 shows per season (mostly SOL and comedies) and buy what I like. (Driven by that 1970’s mindset) Now, I’m adding this blog. (Feeding your self love!)

    I recently retired, so I have more time to spend on hobbies, and fewer people to share them with. It’s a minor dilemma, but sharing a hobby is part of the fun.

    Of course, there’s always guitar, single malt and Fairburn agate.

    • I’m always glad to see people over the age of 40 still enjoying anime. I sometimes wonder and worry if I will lose interest or be “too old” to enjoy it. But when I get comments from people who are there and still have the hobby, it makes me feel a lot better.

      I agree that sharing a hobby is part of the fun. Sometimes its hard not having a person in my real life to share the hobby with but the internet is great that it helps fill that hole. Thank you for adding my blog! I hope you enjoy it!

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Anniversary – One Year Down!!! « Black Strawberry

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 266 other followers

