R.I.P Disco Queen

This is an updated post: Thanks to Cajun Samurai and Justin, I have been told of the connection between Donna Summer and anime. I will admit that I am an anime fan that did not watch Pokemon (yeah, I know, how is that possible?) but my goodness, the song is so beautiful! Cajun Samurai posted a video of the song. I initially stated that Donna Summer was not an anime fan that I knew of and this still may be true but she contributed to the anime community. This bit of information made me even sadder than I was initially.

I do have interests outside of anime and music is one of them. Though Donna Summer was before my time, I still loved her music. Disco was dead by the time I was born but somehow I stumbled across Donna Summer. This wasn’t too difficult as her songs were played everywhere, loudspeakers in grocery stores, ballgames, movies, you name it. This flashy woman with the beautiful voice and the rocking moves had music that spanned the ages.  With her svelte figure, fantastic weaves, rocking guitar riffs in her songs, and letting you know she worked hard for the money, Donna Summer was one of my idols. I remember thinking as a little girl how cool Donna Summer looked and how I wished that I could pull off her sultry look.  Of course, I didn’t realize until I was older how sexy her lyrics were; I just thought she sounded good. My mother always said I had an old soul but it was funny as a child that I listened to Donna Summer while my friends knew all the rap lyrics. Well, Donna Summer, you will be missed but I’m glad you left music for me to continue to remember you by. Toot toot, honey.

14 Comments

  1. Donna Summer did the theme song to the first Pokemon movie “The Power of One”. And she did an awesome, awesome job with it. So in a way, this touches the anime community as well…crying shame. She’ll live on through her music, that’s for sure.

    • OMG! This does touch us more than I knew. I had no idea. Gosh, this makes me even sadder!

    • I did not know this either. I loved this song. Now I’m sadder as well. :(

      • Don’t mourn her passing–celebrate her life!

  2. Hmm. Dating myself here. Back in 1986 (or was it ’87) a friend and I went on a camping trip out west – while out there we stayed a couple of nights with a friend of his and took in the sights around Las Vegas. Somehow the three of us ended up at a show Donna Summer put on, at Caesar’s Palace I think. I never cared for disco but I did admit she was a great singer.

    • Donna Summer was the only disco music I ever listened to and I didn’t know she was disco. Probably learned who she really was when I was a teenager. Disco was dead by the time I was born, “killed by rock and roll” is what my father said.

      And I don’t want to ask how old you were in ’86 or ’87 if you were able to take in the sights and sounds of Vegas! What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas.

  3. LOL – I wouldn’t say “killed by rock and roll”. More, it was a victim of its own success – I think it was more that it became to “mainstream” and suffered a “no longer hip” reaction so most groups wandered off to find other things. It suffered a crash, but never really died, just sort of morphed into other things or was called something different but remained similar.

    Ah, I’m not shy about my age – I’ll be 50 in a few months. But even my son will tell you I’m not quite grown up – It just means I’ve been playing a lot longer than most others around here ;)

    • Dude, age ain’t nothing but a number. The fact that you know about anime and are cool with it makes you awesome in my book! Besides, older anime fans are actually quite common!

    • The big 5-0! That is a milestone so congratulations! I can see how disco was a victim of its own success. Once something becomes very popular, it loses its appeal to many people. I wil admit, I will like something but at soon as it hits mainstream, I don’t like it anymore. Going mainstream sometimes changes things for the worse. What do you think disco morphed into?

      • My impression was that the “dance music” of the 80s and beyond more or less continued to contain the same style and rhythm elements, but lost most of the heavy, complicated composition that characterized disco of the late 70s. It also, most importantly, lost all of the associated social context around it that was responsible for much of the backlash. Mind you, my music of choice has always been “hard rock” (and I dance not at all), so I’m certainly no expert on this, but it always seemed to me during the 80s when I was ‘active’ with the night life scene that most major towns, particularly if they had a university connection, would usually have at least one dance bar where the music sounded suspiciously like it owed much to disco influence.

      • I do dance and I love music. I have found that a lot of modern music have their roots in blues and I agree that disco influenced a lot of people. They may not admit it but you can hear it in the music. I really miss when music was done by live instruments. You’re right about the lack of complication which I think is important and what makes music lasts longer than its era.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

