Anime Blues

Image

I’ve got the anime blues. I haven’t written in over a month. I haven’t been able to find anything to blog about. Granted, there has been a lot on my mind that is outside of the anime realm and usually anime is able to help me during times such as these. However, lately anime has not really offered anything new for me. I tweeted how I would really like another show cut from the same cloth of Cowboy Bebop, Ghost in the Shell, Samurai Champloo, Trigun; I would even take something like Inuyasha. A show with mature characters; adults, not just high school kids doing high school things. That’s starting to bore me. These cutesy shows with the cutesy characters even when the show has serious content is annoying. I know the anime fan base eats this up and thats why the creators make shows specifically for them so they can rake in the money. I don’t blame them for this but for goodness sake, throw us a bone here! 

I like watching my anime on television so my easiest choices to watch anime is to purchase shows (which I did in large quantity at Anime Weekend Atlanta) or use Hulu, Crunchyroll, Manga channel, Netflix.  Hulu tends to have a better selection of anime to me than Crunchyroll in terms of more mature viewing. Crunchyoll has tons and tons of cutesy anime and the popular status quo shows. Maybe I need to take some time and go through everything they have to offer. I’ve been feeling this way for a while with anime but Anime Weekend Atlanta was able to spark life back in to me for a moment but that wore off. Its not that I don’t like anything right now. I am watching Kill la Kill and Beyond the Boundary. 

Kill la Kill almost got on the drop list for its ridiculous fanservice but there is something about it that has made me keep watching. The terrible animation, the over the top fight scenes, and the “ugliness” of the characters has its charm. The show is fun to watch. It hints at depth but there really isn’t much that has presented itself in the first 8 episodes. It makes me laugh and I could really use a good laugh. Beyond the Boundary; I’m not quite sure why I keep watching it when it really has been monotonous. Maybe its the hope of there actually being a story within the show. There are 13 episodes and the last few look like we might be getting somewhere. Still both of these shows are not shows I am overly excited about. I am generally watching at least 7-10 shows a season; whether all new or a combination of old and new. I would love some recommendations of anime from the early 2000s. I generally liked shows from that time period the best.  I would love to get out of this funk. 

15 Comments

  1. I wish I could recommend something, but even I’ve been pretty bad at watching any sort of anime as of late. Here’s to getting out of the anime funk soon.

    • I have been watching tons of K-drama, though. They have adult characters, generally a plot (even if its predictable), but at least I can get attached to a character. I miss great anime!

      • Do you have any k-dramas to recommend for someone who’s never seen any ?

      • Yes. Boys over Flowers, Queen of the Office (loved that one), Heirs, Rooftop Prince.

      • The original Fullmetal Alchemist is a gem, really.

      • That it is.

  2. Do you have a MAL (MyAnimeList.com)? Easier to make recommendations when I can see what a person’s already watched, what they liked and disliked. Though in all likelihood, you’ve seen far more anime than I have. Just to throw something out there, I’d suggest Genshiken, Princess Tutu, and Monster.

    • Yes, I have a MAL: http://bit.ly/RZqOhM

      Those are actually three shows I haven’t seen. I’ve seen the second part of Genshiken, wasn’t impressed but from what I’ve read its completely different than the first one. Princess Tutu looks a little cutesy, trying to get away from that. Monster looks good and dark, will look into that. Thanks!

      • Indeed, there’s no denying that Princess Tutu looks and sounds ridiculously cutesy. But once you had your break from the stuff, definitely give it a try. It has a rather unique fairy tale atmosphere that explores some dark themes. Same goes for Madoka Magica, which I was surprised not to find on your list.

        One more suggestion is Jojo’s Bizarre Adventure from earlier this year. Over-the-top 80s shounen battle manga that finally got a proper TV series adaptation. Everything about it is a huge throwback. It will be continuing sometime next year.

  3. I know that feel buddy! I went through my own version of the Anime Blues earlier this year. Sometimes the best thing to do is try not to force it. Watch shows that you know you’ll like and see if that helps!

    • I had to realize what it was and acknowledge that is what I was going through. But I’ve actually started watching an older show that has piqued my interest.

  4. I’ve got a similar affliction. I’m watching a bunch of anime, liking most of it, but can’t summon the energy to blog about it. It’s somewhat frustrating.

    As for recommendations, have you looked at at the currently airing Samurai Flamenco? It’s got adults doing adult things. It can be a bit silly at times but it’s one of my favorites this season.

    For older, and not so old, anime recommendations, I’d recommend giving these a look over – Aoi Bungaku, Baccano!, Bartender, Chouyaku Hyakuninisshu: Uta Koi., Fantastic Children, Haibane Renmei, Kaiba, Kino no Tabi: The Beautiful World, Planetes, Tatakau Shisho: The Book of Bantorra, Uchuu Senkan Yamato 2199, Yakushiji Ryouko no Kaiki Jikenbo, and Yojouhan Shinwa Taikei.

    I consider some of these among the “great” anime series of the last decade but all of them are at least good series, in my book. I hope this helps.

    • Thanks. I just finished Baccano! actually. I enjoyed it. I’ll check those others out that you listed. I haven’t watched Samurai Flamenco but I will look into it since you mentioned it was pretty decent.

      • I’ll second the Book of Bantorra. It’s one of my top ten.

        Other anime with older characters that you might be interested in are Moribito, You’re Under Arrest (1st season), Bubblegum Crisis, Madlax (same director as Noir), and Innocent Venus.

      • I’ve seen Moribito (got a post about it, loved it!), Bubblegum Crisis. Have not seen You’re Under Arrest, Madlax, and Innocent Venus. I’ll have to look them up. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

