THE LADY AND ANIME

Exploring the World of Anime

Gundam for Thought

I have never watched a Gundam episode or movie. Not one. It’s not that I don’t like mecha anime as I really enjoyed Gurren Lagann. I know that Gundam is  a classic but it has not caught my interest enough to sit down and watch it. However, I still find immense satisfaction looking at this life-size replica of Gundam. These wonderful shots were taken by Alan (shibuya426) who has been living in Japan for over 20 years. He takes some of the best Japan shots on the web.

Gundam in Japan (Credit: shibuya246.com)

The composition of this photo is magnificent. Even though I have never watched a Gundam episode, ok, maybe I have caught a few glimpses of one, this is a captivating image. Gundam standing strong against a resplendent backdrop. I’m not sure if it is a sunset or sunrise but either way, its quite breath-taking.

Gundam (Credit: shibuya246.com)

I’m no photographer but  anyone should be able to appreciate how this shot seems to bring the Gundam to life. The magnitude and scope of it is incredible. This in-scale model was built in 2009 by Bandai and stood tall in Odaiba Island in Tokyo.  I remember when this was built and revealed fully to the public and I wish I could have been able to make it to Japan to see it.

2 Comments

  1. Ah, original Gundam from 80s. Well, who knows someday Gundam would be brought here for display as well. I wonder how many Gundam series they have been making?

    • GoodbyeNavi

      It would be nice if it were brought here for display but I bet that would be expensive. They would probably bring it to NYC or California. I don’t see them taking it anywhere else. Regarding how many Gundam series, that is a good question that I hadn’t thought about.

Leave a Reply

