THE LADY AND ANIME

Exploring the World of Anime

Goodbye 2011…Hello 2012 Anime Season!

Here is the obligatory end of the year post; woo hoo! The year of 2011 brought in some good anime but for the most part, I considered it to be a pretty lackluster year. There was a lot of the same old, not much anime that screamed “FAVORITE OF ALL TIME!” We had a couple of gems with the biggest one being Steins;Gate. But with all that said, the Winter 2012 anime list has been released; let’s talk about what I will most likely watch.

Another

I like horror anime if it is done well. I don’t like horror live-action films but a good horror anime, I will watch even if it scares the crap out of me. Another is the anime adaptation of a horror novel by the same name written by Yukito Ayatsuji. The premise is creepy in itself; 26 years ago (to 1998 because that’s when everything picks back up) a female student named Misaki suddenly dies. Her classmates decide to act as if she is still alive until graduation. Why her classmates would want to do this is strange in itself. I understand that she was popular but not accepting her death and carrying on as if she were alive is a bit weird. Maybe they felt in that way she could still “experience” her childhood. I don’t know but I see it as anchoring her to the school and creating a ghost. The plot continues on that in 1998 in that same school and the same classroom, a boy transfers there and is concerned about the “fearful atmosphere in the classroom“. Then there is a female student who wears an eye-patch, is forever alone, and is always drawing pictures that further serves to spook the boy. I’m actually laughing as I am typing this for some reason because I am making spooky noises to myself. It sounds cool so I will check it out.

Brave 10

Ok, so initially, I saw the poster for this series and was intrigued because it was covered with men! Hey, sometimes my girly side gets the best of me and I cannot resist the allure of watching a show with an attractive male cast. That’s not it fully, it looked like a decent fighting show with fire, blood, intense scenes, and ninjas! Before I did a little research about the show, I had already made an assumption. The show would be about 10 brave warriors doing I have no idea but there will be blood. That assumption was right, I mean it was obvious based off the title and poster. In reading about the manga which it is based off, it is considered a mature series which gets bonus points for me. If the show is any good, I will probably start reading the manga.

So those of are the two that captured my eye! I want to wish everyone a Happy New Year and I hope 2012 brings you great anime and more joy than you can handle.

6 Comments

  1. Only two?😛 I’ll probably continue my old habits into 2012 – 8 of the shows that I was watching finished this season, so I’ll pick up 8 new ones in the coming season to replace them. Though trying to find 8 *good* series may prove challenging…

    Another is definitely top of my list of things to pick up, since like you I’m a fan of horror anime. Amagami SS+ is also a safe(ish) bet since I liked the first season, though exactly how they plan to continue from that, I haven’t a clue. Thermae Romae deserves a look just because it’s sounds so different, and at 3 episodes long won’t waste much of my time if it turns out to be bad. Based on the extremely catchy trailer, I’m thinking Kill Me Baby will be fun too. Aside from that, I’ll just decide based on their first episodes.

    Brave 10 doesn’t immediately appeal to me, but that’s mostly because I’m beginning to tire of all the Sengoku period anime out there… it always seems to be the Sengoku period or the Bakumatsu in anime, and the casts are either filled with bishounen or are completely gender-swapped.😛 Still, I’ll give it a chance along with everything else.🙂

    • Happy New Year! Yeah, I know its a short list. But for this year, I want to get more things done this year than I did last year so that means *gasp* minimizing my anime watching. But I know that as soon as the season starts, I will probably pick up two more. And I have some still running anime that I watch so although I may be watching two new series, I’m still watching the running series and old anime that I haven’t seen. I have no shame to admit that I’m primarily watching Brave 10 in hopes of getting away from massive fanservice targeted at males.🙂

  2. Another is really going to be nice. As for Brave 10, I guess I will give it a try. I expect 2012 to be an year even better than 2011 (in terms of anime)

    • I am hoping it will be. I was very disappointed with last year’s anime for the most part.

  3. Happy New Year!😉

Leave a Reply

