THE LADY AND ANIME

Exploring the World of Anime

First Impressions and Reviews

Another place, another timeI’ve given this some thought since I’ve started ani-blogging; writing first impressions. I applaud those who are able to do them for every episode that comes out each season but I have realized that this is not my idea of fun and it makes anime less of a hobby and more of a homework assignment. I don’t want to take the joy out of it all and I could see myself feeling the pressure of wanting to write a good first impression that people could enjoy. I understand that it gives a preview for those who have not watched the anime yet and someone who gives a good first impression would allow a watcher to check out an anime they have not considered. I know that is the case for me. Initially, I only planned on watching two anime from this season but due to quality first impressions by some writers, I have picked up a couple of other series. So first impressions are helpful and I will concede that they are needed. There are so many ani-bloggers that do first impressions that I don’t feel there is a need to add more to that stockpile.

Of course, I am going to write about the anime I watch even if it is the first episode. I have realized that I have been focusing on mainly anime that I enjoy. I haven’t really critically reviewed a series. Mainly due to when I get so excited about an anime I’m watching or have watched, I want to discuss it. When I don’t like an anime, I just want to forget that I have ever seen it and would rather not talk about it; completely “erase” it from memory.  If something is really bad unless it is a movie, I stop watching. But, hey, I’m just getting my feet wet with this ani-blogging. This is a new adventure for me and I plan on enjoying the journey. If I am able to be consistent with it, I feel that I will have met one of my goals. I may not make it a habit of first impressions but this post is not to say that I will never do it because I am not a fortune teller. And I have given my first impressions on a show, I did it with Another. I liked the first episode so I wanted to write about it and share my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

