THE LADY AND ANIME

Exploring the World of Anime

The List is Growing!

So I started with just watching two new shows this season but I have been pulled in to another two shows. I’ve added Sakamichi no Apollon (Kids on the Slope) and Accel WorldThe latter getting a peep based off good first impressions. There was an overwhelming majority of people enjoying Accel World with many not having high expectations before they watched it. Kids on the Slope got a look because a twitter friend mentioned it being about jazz. I like jazz, I like anime, seemed like a good mixture to me. I was a bit worried about Crunchyroll‘s  offerings for this season but they have KiotS and the still corny but likable Uchuu Kyouda (Space Brothers) so I have been mollified.

I clicked on my Crunchyroll channel and settled in to see what KiotS had to offer and was pleasantly impressed. This show looks like it will have enormous potential. For some reason, I have a feeling that a character will die but I hope not. It just seems so soothing that tragedy is lurking around the corner. I hope that is not the case because I was amused by the antics of Sentarou Kawabuchi and look forward to see what trouble he gets Kaoru Nishimi into and a possible blooming relationship between Nishimi and Ritsuo Mukae. It has the makings of a love triangle, I hope the show is able to avoid that. It gave me a Nodame Cantabile vibe but that might have been due to the musical aspect although the characters are pretty quirky. Here’s to hoping the show keeps it up.

Have there been any surprises for you?

20 Comments

  1. I think the biggest surprise for me was Tsuritama – not only because of how awesome it is (currently my favorite first episode of the season), but also because of its similarity to Sakamichi no Apollon. Both feature a transfer student, well accustomed to moving from school to school. Both these characters have anxiety issues. Both capture the interest of another, stand-out character from their class, who end up pulling them in the direction of a new hobby – jazz in one, fishing in the other. They’re both noitaminA series, and will both be 11 episodes long. 😛

    • Tsuritama has a sci-fi aspect, doesn’t it? I can’t really compare it yet to Sakamichi no Apollon because I haven’t watched it but my interest is peaked. I have no idea how I am going to be able to keep up with watching my old shows and these new shoes. Time management is key. I have discovered over the past year that I enjoy noitaminA series immensely. I even enjoyed Fractale which has one of the same producers as Tsuritama; A-1 Pictures, and it is also a part of the sci-fi genre.

  2. If you’ve ever seen Cowboy Bebop or Samurai Champloo, which are also from Shinichiro Watanabe, you’ll understand why we’re all excited about Sakamichi no Apollon (and why we have steadfast faith that it will turn out to be great).

    • Of course I’ve seen Cowboy Bebop and Samurai Champloo! 🙂 Two of my favorites. I don’t own many series but Samurai Champloo is one that I own. If the first episode was any indication of the quality of the show, I expect it to be a delight.

  3. Surprises? Several, actually. However, the biggest so far is Sankarea – so far, nothing comedy or ecchi about it. It’s actually so far a sad story, so far as it concerns the child abuse Rae is going through.

    • A sad anime, eh? Is that what made it the biggest surprise? I’m only watching one comedy this season and that’s Space Brothers. Nothing ecchi.

      • Pretty much – I was expecting to lose interest and drop it fairly quickly, but so far it simply seems to be telling a decent story, though the main male character has some rather peculiar interests.

  4. ajester

    Accel World came as a surprise to me too. I heard a review and sounded interesting so I checked it out and found it to be very interesting. Also I’m watching Eureka Seven AO. So far it looks like its going to be a pretty good follow up to the Eureka Seven series.

    • I have yet to gather enough interest in Eureka Seven but I feel I should watch it for conversation’s sake.

  5. oh wow i just caught the first episode of Sakamichi no Apollon and I’m impressed. Can’t wait to see the season unfold. It brings back really good memories of Nodame. Have to agree with AngryJellyfish that the similarity between the main characters of Sakamichi and Tsuritama is uncanny! Super excited about both series!

    • I still haven’t watched Tsuritama. I knew there was something I was forgetting. I’ll be honest the last few days I had to finish watching Beelzebub. I’m glad I wasn’t the only one impressed with Sakamichi no Apollon.

  6. I’m not really impressed by accel world. I kind of hate the protagonist for making that girl cry. I do like Sakamichi no Apollon and Tsuritama. I wasn’t expecting those two to be that good. They might go on a downfall so my opinion might not stay the same. But let’s hope it does ^_^

    • You’re mad at the protagonist? That’s great. The show is evoking serious emotions! 🙂 I really didn’t have high hopes for Sakamichi no Apollon or Tsuritama. I thought SnA might be interesting because of the jazz aspect. I’m still on the fence with Tsuritama.

  7. Ruth

    I got more of a Honey and Clover vibe from Kids on the Slope. It definitely gave me some hope for this season after being underwhelmed by Space Brothers.

    • I didn’t see the Honey and Clover in the show initially but I can see some similarities such as falling in love immediately. But other than that, I didn’t really get that vibe.

      • Ruth

        I mean it more in the sense that while H&C was at an art school, and every episode featured at least a little art discussion, it was mostly about character interactions. It looks like Kids might take more of that approach rather than having the heavier focus on the music (ala Beck or something).

      • Hmm, it seems a bit more like Nodame Cantabile to me but I see where you’re coming from. Beck was more about building the band and reminded me of Nana.

  8. haha, I had thought/written the same thing about it having a Nodame Cantabile vibe too. I guess that one is kinda obvious huh?

    • I didn’t think it would have a Nodame Cantabile vibe at first because of its focus on jazz rather than classical music. I’m not sure if its going to be as romantic because Ritsuo doesn’t look like she’s into Nishimi. She seems like she’s just really nice and wants to relax him. But we will see.

      • Someone had written that it seemed more like a bromance. Honestly it is good enough that it does not really matter to me whether there will be romance. It is welcome though.

Leave a Reply

