THE LADY AND ANIME

Exploring the World of Anime

There are Thoughts!

Image

This winter season is almost over. I’m not disappointed in what I have been watching this season. Thankfully, the shows have been interesting because this has been a rough winter. Snowstorms, earthquakes, freezing temperatures; you name it, we’ve had it. So it’s been nice to be able to log into Crunchyroll and Hulu to find something to watch.  I’ve continued with a couple of shows this season from last season; they include Kill la Kill and Samurai Flamenco.

Kill la Kill is a show that I normally wouldn’t watch. Most of you who have read my blog over time know that I am not a huge fan of fanservice. Kill la Kill is filled with it to the point of overkill. However, there was a story within it all and it was finally revealed in the last two episodes! I was excited because a prediction I made on Tumblr was accurate. I won’t reveal it here if you have not watched it. I was still surprised though I had made the guess. I could not believe I was right. I will venture to say this show is addressing materialism. Allowing clothes, money, and power to take control over our lives that we lose our humanity. Society is brainwashed and cannot see corporations taking over their lives and controlling every aspect such as where we live, what we eat, where we go to school, where we work; complete control. Those who attempt to fight against it are attacked by brute force, imprisoned, forced to go underground. Kill la Kill explores this in its haphazard art, outrageous fight scenes, and obsession with nudity. All the characters have personality which I generally cannot say for most shows I watch. I genuinely like them all except Ragyo Kiryuin; though her rainbow colored hair is fabulous. There are a couple of scenes with her and Satsuki that are too perverted for me to sit through. Spoiler: comes across a bit incestuous and are completely pointless.  My favorite character is Mako with her undying idiot savant-ness (made that word up) and staunch commitment to her friend, Ryuko, and her family. There seems to be something between her and Ira Gamagori. Looks like Gamagori might actually care for a girl other than Satsuki. The battle between corporate control rages on this season and I’m interested to see how it is resolved.

Samurai Flamenco derailed completely. It had such a dramatic turn in events that I continued to watch it.  Lets start with your average wanna-be superhero. Hall monitor by night; concerned about littering, and pickpocketing but steadily moving up to bigger crimes where people start to notice your influence and want to know your true identity. Spoiler ALERT: Then BAM, lets introduce MONSTERS.  Plot twist!!! Where the hell did these monsters come from? They seriously came out of nowhere. There was no indication in the show outside of the OP (which led you to believe it was really just Masayoshi Yazama dreaming) of monster fighting. Some people don’t seem to care for the plot twist and feel Samurai Flamenco should have ended but I find the show endearing. Masayoshi’s character is truly sweet and honest though he is quite naive. He truly wants to help his fellow citizens. I think there are people who want to be superheroes and save the world from bad guys but don’t have the guts or resources to do so. It is true being a superhero as portrayed in anime or western cartoons is quite fantastical. But before the show went into left field with exploding monsters “Viva TORTURE!”, it was quite realistic. Masayoshi trained himself to be stronger, faster, he gained equipment, he was pretty much a loner outside of one true friend.  The only problem is real cops don’t like vigilantes. 

So as usual, with me not blogging as consistently once I get to blog, I realize that if I say everything, the post will be quite long. These two shows are not the only ones I’m watching. I’m also watching Hamatora; which so far to me is quite good and Silver Spoon. I will need to make sure to come back and blog about those soon; not in a month or so. I wish I could blog and watch anime at the same time but that is difficult to achieve because when you look away from the screen, you miss the subtitle! Happy anime watching!

5 Comments

  1. I’m thinking that watching Kill la Kill for most of us is like watching a train wreck; it’s so terrible and horrifying, but we just can’t stop watching until we see it through to the end. But like you, sitting through some of the stuff, especially recently, has made me way too uncomfortable that I’m just wishing it would all end sooner rather than later.
    Hopefully Trigger will pursue Little Witch Academia next time for a full length series.

    Oh, Hamatora was one of the series I sadly dropped in the beginning due to lack of time for this season, but I’m happy to hear you’re enjoying it. I’ll have to go back and pick it back up again.

    • So I replied to this yesterday but apparently it didn’t show up. Kill la Kill is a train wreck but underneath there is an actual story. I have to watch it to the end and fast forward the questionable parts. I am hoping that it will end this season. I really don’t want to watch another season of it. I agree with you about Trigger. Little Witch Academia was such a delight.

      I would say pick Hamatora back up again especially since you’re enjoying Noragami. I did pick up Noragami, thanks to your blog post and I really like it so far.

  2. Kai

    Annnnnnnd I haven’t watch anything, lol. Aside from continuing Log Horizon from where I left off. I also planned to continue watching Nagi no Asukara soon.

    For some reason, there seems to be a lot of 20+ episodes from the previous season…

    • You’re right about that. I just realized that! All these 20+ episodes. I need a story to end. It’s ok that you haven’t watched anything, I’m just now blogging.

Trackbacks

  1. Final Thoughts on Kill la Kill: What a Fun Ride! « Medieval Otaku

Leave a Reply

