THE LADY AND ANIME

Exploring the World of Anime

Can I Live in Japan?

I love Japanese animation and I have a cursory knowledge of samurai and Japanese vending machines. Periodically, I read Japanese news to kind of get a feel of what is going ontumblr_mb0dvwNohO1rtg63yo1_1280 in Japan. But can I actually live there? The tiny apartments, the earthquakes, the language, racial, and cultural barrier. Am I brave enough to overcome those challenges? I wouldn’t be going alone. My husband and our spawn would be along for the ride. That adds even more to it. I know I can do it on my own but what about my husband and our small one who doesn’t really care for new places or people? It has been a fleeting dream of mines to live in Japan. To live somewhere completely different than where I am from and live. To be an obvious outsider, a foreigner, no knowledge of the language, and very little understanding of the nuances in Japanese culture. I would have to do much more research than my superficial forays into the “weird” parts of Japan and my casual reads of Japanese news. I would really need to try to learn as much about the culture as possible before making a decision to live there for a couple of years.

Would I be able to adapt to the culture? I wouldn’t be alone so that might make it easier. It leads to me to wonder what do I really know about Japan?

Leave a Reply

