THE LADY AND ANIME

Exploring the World of Anime

Unfinished Business

759I’m a reader. I love reading books to clear my mind and stay sane in this ever changing and unpredictable world. It was my escape. I have had some difficulty finding good books to escape into lately so anime and K-drama have been my only forms of escapism. When reading a book, I always finished it even if I didn’t like it. It was my motto to finish what I started.

I’m not able to do that with anime or K-drama. I don’t understand how I am able to push through an over 500 page book that I don’t like but I can’t make it through an anime if I don’t like. I turn it off and don’t watch it again unless I was interested but got distracted by something else.  I can put down a book and half a year later, pick it back up to finish it.

Not so with anime and K-drama; most specifically anime since I watch that the most. I have a graveyard of anime that I’ve dropped and left to wallow in a pit of “maybe I’ll get to it”. Two notable ones that I have dropped are One Piece and Sword Art Online. Arguably, One Piece is most definitely better than SAO. I also liked One Piece in a way but I simply couldn’t get through it. SAO was absolute harem garbage and once I lost hope that it would have any true semblance of a good plot; it was dead to me. I’ve also started watching Fairy Tail and though it started silly; it did improve, yet, I still have not finished it. Like One Piece, I do sort of like it but cannot finish it. And I really hate unfinished business.

4 Comments

  1. Rhys

    It’s a tough job that you will finish reading all One Piece books, I think. One piece is a very long story. I love it though.
    Anyway, It was very interested story that you wrote about Japan in 2011. Did you try to go to Japan after that?

    • Hi. Thank you for reading. I don’t think I’m going to complete One Piece but I won’t say “never”. I haven’t visited Japan yet, unfortunately. Many things have changed in my life since 2011 but the plan remains. It is a country on my bucket list. Have you ever visited or do you live there?

      • Rhys

        Hi.
        I live in Japan and I am Japanese.
        I was sorry about posting a message before reading other days diary in your blog.
        Now I understand you more.
        Can you understand my English?^_^;
        I’m same position as you in my life that is mom, wife, oh I don’t work now:b
        And I like British movies, dramas and books such as harrypotter, Brian wild smith, once upon a time(drama). And I wish I will live in uk one day.

      • Your English is fine and I hope you can understand my English. No need to apologize for not reading the other days first. I’ve been blogging a long time now!

        So you like British media? Do you like comedies or just prefer drama? I don’t really watch many British shows but when I do, it’s comedy.

        Do you want to go back to work? Or do you just want to be a stay at home mom? I stayed at home for a year before I went back to work.

Leave a Reply

